Congratulations to the Chi-Town Cubs

Winners and My Chicago Cubs Fan Story

jake-arrietta-at-the-winners-parade-2016

The Chicago Cubs are World Champions! They won the 2016 World Series. Just one year off the year that Back to the Future Guessed 30 years ago. And more years than that since I was a big fan in the mid to late 70’s, even more than that since their last win in 1908.

I really didn’t even think, I’d ever see this happen. Growing up and way past growing up years, the Cubs lost A LOT. It wasn’t until this year, when I saw them play at Wrigley on Labor Day Weekend that I said, “Wow, this is actually a really good team, they look like winners”. The year before I saw them play, they were better than usual, but this year they were stellar. This was for sure the year to win. And the game itself was quite entertaining.

Here’s my Big Cubs story growing up with them in the 70’s:

The Cubs had seats made of Wood. The seats didn’t flip-up automatically. But the Cubs needed the seats up to clean the rows.  So, if you sat in the far right side of the stadium in the 7th inning and got an end seat. You would meet a nice man after the game and he would give you a small lucky ticket.

I would take my lucky ticket and flip-up ALL the seats in my row throughout the stadium. Then the nice man would meet us all at the end. And give us a free ticket to any upcoming game. Best part about this gig is the nice man had a crush on my mom. So about 2-4 games a season, she would come and he would give her 4-5 extra free tickets and I wouldn’t have to work for a weeks worth of Cubs Games.

I saw almost every home Cubs game that they played with my friend Scott McGinnis for 2-3 years. Had my glove signed by Manny Trillo. Took the El Train which cost only $1 and brought my home lunch. Great Memories, Great times, they rarely won a game. Didn’t much matter, they were Fun Summers and pretty much Free Summers.

BTW: Harey Carey also had the hots for my mom at some bar in the early 80’s. She said he was DRINKING. That’s all I remember on that story. LOL

Congratulations to My Chicago Cubs!

Go Cubs Go!

All The Way!

About Scott Mackenzie

Blogger, Designer, Artist.Owner: Streetzblog.com You can contact me at (808) 275-1106 anytime.

Posted on November 5, 2016, in Sports and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

