Club-Mate: The Next Red Bull

Highly Caffeinated Soda Moving Quickly up the Speed Ladder

Here we can see Club-Mate in the original flavor along w/ 4 additional versions. If you get a chance to try it? LMK how it tastes? (Aug 17, 2015)

Here we can see Club-Mate in the original flavor along w/ 4 additional versions. If you get a chance to try it? LMK how it tastes? (Aug 17, 2015)

I highly doubt anyone will ever beat Red Bull as the Go to default for an Energy Drink. Many have tried, many have tasted better, were packaged better. But, one of the biggest marketing laws ever is “First In” will win continuously or at least for a very long time and Red Bull was First in on the Energy Drink Category. And, Look how long Coca Cola or Coke has lasted in the soda category? Yet, Club-Mate, a highly caffeinated soda from Germany is buzzing in all the right places to make it pretty massive fairly soon.

Berlin computer programmers were amongst the first early adopters in the early Aughts, next it hit the German Rave scene where expectedly it was mixed with Alcohol.  Today (August 17, 2015) it’s stocked and ready for action at some of the most famous Hi-Tech companies including:  Facebook, Kickstarter, and Gawker.

As it moves along the tech-track, it’s also highly visible where trends kick into gear fairly quickly including bodega’s in the Hipster areas of Brooklyn and the Lower East Side of NYC.

One more plus to the Club-Mate story is it’s made from Yerba-Matte. From my visits to healthy places like Whole Foods and Down to Earth in HI, I’ve been noticing a VERY high increase in the purchases of drinks containing this ingredient. I tried to switch from coffee to Yerbe-Matte about 5 years ago, but it was just a bit to jittery for me.  But, the 18-28  year old crowd at the Health Food stores are buying this stuff up like crazy. In an informal survey, I’d say it’s the 22 year old female that likes this caffeinated treat the best.  Thus, Club-Mate, just might be the real Next Big Thing! To see more about CB click http://www.clubmate.de/about-club-mate.html

A little side story, When I was in Berlin in 1996, I drank Red Bull every day. This special Berlin Concoction of the brand name was so potent (At the time 3x more caffeine than the American version eventually contained), I could only drink half a can in 3 hours. I’m 1 of those people that loves to track trends and look for the NBT, I figured this was it and I was finally going to be a millionaire. I brought back 4 cans of the coveted Red Bull, had a few friends over and gave them a couple. They loved the buzz, but didn’t quite like the taste all that much. I still thought it was my ticket to the Big $$’s. But as what used to happen to me, Life Happened and I went to work as I was supposed to and let my RB dream go on the wayside. It was about 2, maybe 3 years before it went big in the states.

Maybe, it’s time to get some of this Club-Mate out to Hawaii and make those Mills?  Whatcha’ Think?  Anyone tasted it? Seen it in their local little store or bodega?  We call them little stores in Hawaii. I’ve yet to taste a Club-Mate, but if it comes from Berlin, where I tasted my first Red Bull, this should be pretty Big.  LMK if you see it or taste it and what you think of it?  Maybe we can all make some Money!  See you on the Streetz.  This Week, I’ll be checking out Straight Outta’ Compton, a couple local concerts and maybe, hopefully, finally making it to the beach before the Summer is over. Have a nice week!

About Scott Mackenzie

Blogger, Designer, Artist.Owner: Streetzblog.com You can contact me at (808) 275-1106 anytime.

Posted on August 17, 2015, in HOT TREND ALERT and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

