Turning People into Paintings

Alexa Meade Turns 3 Dimensional People into 2 Dimensional Paintings

alexa-meade-street-art

 A Canvas? Who Needs a Canvas? Alexa Paints on People!

I really enjoyed today’s webdiscovery. It’s about a lady named Alexa Meade who was headed into a job in politics, who made a quick and favorable career adjustment to be an artist…who paints directly on to people!

She basically takes a person, especially someone she doesn’t know too well.  Then paints upon and around them to produce her art. Then takes a picture of it, because after that, it’s all gone. When I was painting graffiti hats, I was so attached to them, I wanted to keep them all instead of sell them. Wish I had her vision of disposable art 12 years ago, I could have made some $$ before they went out of style. Now, I give them away and save some for the next 80’s trucker hat revival.

Anyways, Alexa has had a tremendous rise in fame with photos of her work exhibited in NY, London, Switzerland and Germany.  Here’s how she describes her works of art:

Instead of painting a portrait on canvas, I will paint my portrait directly on top of the subject being referenced. I cover the skin and clothes of my models in a mask of nontoxic acrylic paint that mimics the colors and contours of the underlying surfaces, and then photograph them. This painting technique I innovated optically compresses 3D space into a 2D plane. Alexa Meade

Check out the TED talk below of Alexa explaining her various paintings and philosophy on art. LMK what you think of this type of art in the comments section below.  See you on the streetz of Oahu..This week at the UH Men’s Volleyball game, Healthy Kids Day and the MDA Soiree.  Have a nice weekend!

About Scott Mackenzie

Blogger, Designer, Artist.Owner: Streetzblog.com You can contact me at (808) 275-1106 anytime.

Posted on April 10, 2015, in Art, Cool and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

