The Guys with the Pearl Necklace

TrendCity or NotReally?

The latest trend in Men’s Jewelry is the Pearl necklace rocked by both Mega-Man of the Moment Pharrell and the longest standing Main Man of Hip-Hop Jay-Z. What do you think of this trend?  Rock or Not?

I like pearls, especially the black opalescent Tahitian Pearls and some of the other pearls that change with the light. They are really dope when the light hits them and they completely change color. I say R-O-C-K.

Check out Jay-Z’s kicks, they look to me to be the He Got Game Kicks that Jesus Shuttlesworth/Ray Allen wore and were the most spotted Retro Jordan’s in NYC by Streetzblog in December 2013. I may need to get a pair of those. They keep popping up and being seen by me way too much.

Well, this is a hard one to admit, but I rocked some Pearls 17 years ago.  I wore them to a family dinner in the suburbs of Chicago. I thought they looked real solid and something a Rock Star would wear. They were a strand of Greyish Black Pearls with a nice Silver chain. I seriously thought they looked very stylish. But, man I got teased right and left that night. I doubt I can find them now, but I did really have a nice lookin’ Pearl necklace. I think I nabbed it from my sister..LOL.

And if it means anything, I’ve been wearing a small dark pearl earring and an opalescent Pearl earring in by left ear since November 2013. My Diamond is still in my right ear. I’d like to take credit for the new trend or no trend. But, let’s give the props to Pharrell and Jay-Z.

This is not a commercial, but if you would like to get some Pearl earings  or a necklace, Check out Na Hoku Jewelry at Ala Moana Center and make sure you ask for my favorite friendly store Sales Associate, SallyAnne. I always get my charms for my mom from her and I bought my two Pearl earrings from her too. It’s not nearly as fun as seeing her in person, but you can check them out on-line if you live outside of Oahu.

What do you think of the Pearls on guys Look?  LMK.  See you this weekend at the Harlem Globetrotters, University of Hawaii, and of course..either at the new H&M in Waikiki or Ala Moana Shopping Center.

*This trend was spotted and tipped off to me by my friend Rolanda.

About Scott Mackenzie

Blogger, Designer, Artist.Owner: Streetzblog.com You can contact me at (808) 275-1106 anytime.

Posted on April 25, 2014, in Cool, Hip-Hop, HOT TREND ALERT, Streetz STYLE and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

