Opening Ceremony Style 2014

If you like Puffy, you’d like These looks

German Smurfs. Picture Courtesy of Flare.com

German Smurfs. Picture Courtesy of Flare.com

I like to talk positive in 95% of my blog posts. And in this one, I wouldn’t say I’m being Negative. I just think the looks shown at the Opening Ceremony of the 2014 Winter Olympics in general were pretty awkward and waaaay to Puffy. Maybe, the designs were made more for warmth than style. But with all the money everyone has, Why not make one look for the Ceremony, then have another look for the pre and post events?

With this post, I didn’t do any research on who the designers were or didn’t even look at any other blogs or news sites. The opinions listed below are from my own Fashionista view of what my impression of this year’s looks were like. Some were good, but most were not that stylish from my view-point. My number one favorite was the Netherlands.  What did you think of the looks?  Let me know in the comments section.

*Sorry if I missed your country, this is the second time I’ve done a Live blog to the opening Ceremony and it’s a bit overwhelming to keep up.

Bermuda:  Red Short pants! Suit Jackets, Ties, White button down shirts, Long dark socks and black business man shoes. Did I say Short pants? Guess they were Bermuda Shorts. Too Funny.

Bulgaria:  Pretty styling looking ski jackets in bright blue flashy yellow with fashionably fierce furry hoods.

Brazil:  Bright Yellow Shirts. Funny looking thick bulky scarves tied in awkward knots. Not one of my favorite looks.

Great Britain:  Dark Blue Slick looking puffy down jackets with burgundy hoods. The best look so far. Something I would and could actually wear. (Adidas)

Venezuela:  Extremely Enthused One guy in multi colored garb.

Germany:  Yellow, Green, Light Blue Jackets, with red pants.  They looked like some kind of cartoon character, I guess maybe multi colored smurfs?  Don’t know who designed these uniforms, but Whoa, must have been someone who went to too many Love Parades! Pretty daring look, just way too bright and cartoonish for my taste.

Israel:  Just some bright, light blue and white ski clothes. Not quite daring enough.

Ireland:  Kind of a New Balance version of horizontal Camo? Nice Green color with Horizontal colors interwoven throughout.   The most Street look as of yet.

Italy:  Usually a pretty Stylish country. This attempt was close with the dark blue and white striping. But the coats were too bulky to show off the style correctly.  Must be really cold this year in Italy.

Canada:  Very conservative. Looked like Canadian Mounty’s/Firemen. Classic Red and Black Canadian Colors.

Kyrgyzstan:  Looked like they were wearing hand-made hats made of Newspaper. Ooops.

China:  Once again, way too much bulk in the down jackets. Made them look “stuffed” instead of fit. I’d keep these coats for the post game warm down. And have another look for the Opening Ceremony.

Lithuania:  Flourescent Green puffy jackets. with bright yellow pants. hats and scarves with the same bright colors.

Liechtenstein:  Fairly interesting attempt at Pop-Art.  In Red, Blue, White, just looked a bit too done already, in the 80’s.

Mexico:  Dark blue or black with white trim.  Looked just like that movie Tron. If they turned off the lights you would just see silhouettes with white lines.  Interesting.

Netherlands:  I usually like this team, since Blue and Orange are my two favorite colors together.  And this year they didn’t fail me.  Nice, Thin not puffy dark blue down jackets with awesome bright Orange accents and interiors.  A really nice look. something I would Rock on the streetz of New York and probably Chicago.

USA:  Where’s Waldo?  I do live in the U.S.A, thus you can tell I’m not bias at all. I do not like these silly over decorated, gaudy sweaters and hats. And goofy baggy white sweat pants. They remind me of Where’s Waldo? No kidding here. If I were the US design team, I would have gone with a  much more understated look. A dark blue thin down Jacket from Uniqlo would look nice. With some tailored dark blue or black fitted slacks and some hip shoes like the new flat soled Doc Martins or some other Hi-End Sneaker like a Rick Owens or a Marc Jacobs. Note: The backs of the sweaters were looking ok, some nice Stars and a simple USA. It’s the front that was way too much.

Poland:  White, White, Grey, White and some red. I guess I’ve never been there, so don’t quite get the look.

South Korea:  Colors and style looked good. but once again way too puffy.

BTW:  The music has been pretty hip, pretty nice Dance beat throughout the ceremony.  A bit generic at times, but still sounded pretty progressive for the Olympics. I thought the London Olympic Opening Ceremony had the best music ever!

Chinese Taipei:  Bright Blue gowns like a High School graduation.  Whoa!

Togo:  Ok I guess the winter Olympics is more about warmth than style. I’m starting to catch on.  Interesting colors on top-looks like yellow and a dark purple?. And some pretty cool icy silver Zippers on the ski pants.

Ukraine:  Some nice street style jackets.  Kinda Camo, kinda animal print. Not sure which animal-maybe an Owl? Interesting look. I Didnt even notice the pants.

Second BTW:  I’ve had enough. But I need to wait until I see Russia,it  wouldn’t be fair if I didn’t watch long enough to see the host Country’s Clothes. So, I will continue with this “Live” blog from the Opening Ceremony of the 2014 Winter Olympic Games.

France:  Grey down jackets made to look like suit jackets with an awkward khaki colored pant. The grey tops were a nice attempt at some style, but the pants were like goofy American office attire.

Third BTW:  The silly announcer just said that some people have been dancing for 25-30 minutes. Like it’s something lame to do, what’s wrong with him? Never been to a Rave before?  People dance for 4-6-8 hours and it’s fun, yes FUN.

Switzerland:  All Bright Red all the Time.

Sweden:  Didnt notice the clothes but I saw the NY Rangers Goalie waving the flag. That’s pretty cool.

Fourth BTW:  Ok when is this going to be over. I need to get dressed to go out for the night.

Russia:  Finally, OMG. And they are wearing Red, White and Blue? A classic Russian look. with a bit of 2013 Nu School  Docker’s flair in their red pants.  It would be really cool if they played a “Pussy Riot” song when they came out. But don’t think that Prez P would dig that.

Well, that’s the official Streetzblog wrap up of what most of the Countries wore. I liked the London Olympic Opening Ceremony much better. The music and the designer duds, but it was kinda fun to live blog the Ceremony. Hopefully, I’ll have the night off in two years and will once again bring you the next Olympic Opening Ceremony of Style.

Have a nice Weekend. See you on the streetz. Now I have just enough time to get myself dressed for an evening of fun and Frivolity. No puffy jacket for me tonight. Gonna’ Rock my dark blue and black plaid pants, a black comfy yet fitted T from H&M, and my flat soled black Doc Martins, my most favorite and MOST comfortable shoes I’ve owned in years!

About Scott Mackenzie

Blogger, Designer, Artist.Owner: Streetzblog.com You can contact me at (808) 275-1106 anytime.

Posted on February 8, 2014, in clothing, Color, Cool, Olympics, Streetz STYLE and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. and Romanian delegation who wore a full black suit in protest against the armed russian troops stationed on Moldova Republic’s territory (former part of Romania annexed by Russia after the war). Russian “peacekeeping” troops using weapons to terrorize ethnic romanians.
    plus many other reasons … reasons that we can not overlook

    Like

  2. Loved the little girl, precious gem, light show was hallucinogenic throughout, ballet and classical numbers were phenomenal. Swan Lake with dayglo braids spinning and it was mind blowing stuff. Could not tolerate nbc, so sound was off. Andorra team sweaters were rocking. Looking forward to hockey and fast, dangerous scary sports.

    Like

    • Yeah, the Little girl flying thru the air was pretty cool. she was “fearless”. Didn’t see the Andorra Team Sweaters, what were they wearing? NBC commentating sounding like they were “old” and out of it-totally agree. I’m watching US vs Finland Women’s Hockey right now. Not sure what the time difference is where you are, but its on live here now. They say the Men’s Hockey doesn’t start until Thursday, so maybe that’s Wednesday or Friday here, I have no idea. Just dont want to miss Shawn White Live on the half-pipe. That’s one sport I like to watch in the moment. *I’m reading Divergent and Insurgent right now, a bit like the Hunger Games, Only $2.99 on the iPad for the first book, I think $4.99 for the second. So much cheaper than the actual book. Both are pretty good.

      Like

Leave a Reply

