Who hid the Music?

Marc By Marc Jacobs #NYFW-Fashion Show S/S 2014

Where’s the missing WWPRD Song?

I was able to watch this show LIVE on my iPhone. That’s probably my most favorite thing to do during Fashion weeks in NYC. The Good folks over at Marc Jacobs know me from somewhere or I signed up for their mailing list sometime. Either way, it’s so cool how I get to watch the shows LIVE just like Anna Wintour et Al.

This Show was pretty good.  I liked the 50’s inspired Khakis that had the 2013 Tapered at the ankle vibe to them.  And sporty Chic is supposed to be the trend. So Good show. I couldn’t go back to wearing a Satin Jacket, I had one of these in Royal Blue in the late 70’s early 80’s that I wore till it practically fell apart. On me now, I have no idea what vibe it would portray?  Hipster-Chic? I kind of think not. Probably, Hey that guy hasn’t been shopping in a while vibe. But I bet the satin jackets will look good on Early to Mid 20’s female and male model types.Funny part about this show, is I really liked the song they played during it.  It was called What would PR do? or WWPRD? At first I thought it was a PR tune, but couldn’t find it there, I did find a YouTube video of  Jeffrey Lewis doing an acoustic  type version of it. It doesn’t quite have the punch as the song they had on live during the fashion show. At least you can kind of feel a bit of the vibe of what was playing in the background of the video below.  It sure is a hard tune to find (at least on 9/13/13). I suspect it was an exclusive for Marc.

Here’s the Marc By Marc Jacobs S/S Fashion Show. Notice the music is missing. Check out Beatport to hear it!

Here is the acoustic version of the song by Jeffrey Lewis. It is really missing the full  punch and pizzaz of the song I heard, not as punk rock sounding either. But at least you can kind of feel the vibe on the video above with no sound and check out the words, they are pretty smack dab on Today’s feeling about being in the world in September 2013. Some phrases are a bit more negative then I tend to like, but others are very “in the moment” about all Jeffrey’s missing is all this mobile phone craziness going on. Now everyone in my building where I work are staring at their phones in the elevators. AND most of the phones don’t get service in the Elevators. Just more people being Anti-Social is what I call it!

It’s not on SoundCloud, it’s not on iTunes, I did find it here at Rough Trade.  I don’t know if the song is the full-fledged tune with the production values and full band or if it’s similar to the acoustic version. Update:  Found it on Beatport and Yes, it is the song they played during the fashion show and you can listen to it or buy it here. Then watch the fashion show again and get the full affect of the Vibe of the show!

If you know other places  we can get the tune let us know in the comments section. Or if you were at the Marc by Marc Jacobs fashion show, Let us know what you thought of the tune or the clothes?  See you on the Streetz of Waikiki September thru Mid December then NYC and Chicago in December.

Before I go to sleep so I can wake up early to check out the Phillip Lim for Target collab in the morning, here’s the Marc Jacobs Fashion show that has all of the cool dark blues and black backdrop ambiance, and the models with the fun choppy hair. This Dark Blue and Black warehouse is how I would like my home to look,  wouldn’t that be fun! If you were at this show let us know how it was in the comments section. This to me looks like a really well done show-almost like seeing a Play in Times Square, NYC.

About Scott Mackenzie

Blogger, Designer, Artist.Owner: Streetzblog.com You can contact me at (808) 275-1106 anytime.

Posted on September 15, 2013, in Cool, Fashion, Music, NYC and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

Leave a Reply

