Makiki Heat-April 12, 2013

Makiki Heat on the Streetz

JPEG-Makiki Heat-streetzblogMakikiHeat-Streetzblog

Dreaming of living in NYC where everything seems to be happening, I thought I bet there are people wishing they lived in Hawaii. But just don’t hear enough about the various cities in Here.   So, My new Top 10 list will be called Makiki Heat. I live in Makiki and I thought Heat sounded good w/ Makiki.  I need to make it clear I am not a Miami Heat fan. Bulls, Knicks, Lakers fan in that order.

Just not sure of my graphics, the first looks a bit scary. I was going for the Cool, Hip, Hype, Happening vibe and ended up with Halloween. The second..aah maybe a bit better..LMK your thoughts? I  can work on it. For now, here’s what’s HOT at Streetzblog. Top 10 not necessarily from Makiki, just written in Makiki, Hip and Hot is from around the World:

  1. 3-D Printing

    Not really printing, but machines that make you practically anything just as almost as fast as printing on a piece of paper.  Big in Japan and I saw a pretty cool 3-D Printing palace open to the public just like the Kinko’s of yesteryear in NYC in DEC 2012.

  2. Crazy Bicycle Wheel Colors

    This is BIG right here, Right Now in Hawaii. I’ve seen flourescent pink wheels with orange stripping, bright lite blue bikes with Red wheels, Yellow wheels with black trim on green bikes. It’s crazy-Mostly guys riding these bikes. They look like regular bikes, just the colors are really wild!

  3. D-Rose

    My prediction is he will be back playing on the Bulls team during the 3rd game of the Play-Offs. I think he’s Tib’s secret weapon.  Let the Bulls win all season with who they have, give them lots of confidence. Then bring Rose in during the 3rd or 4th Quarter to score 20-30 quick points.  That’s What I’m saying. Look out Miami Heat, Rose is Baaaack! (Well Almost)

  4. Monocle Magazine

    I still like magazines and someone left a copy of Monocle at WishWashWonderland the other day.  Never saw it before. But it has some great Fashion Finds, trends, and lots and lots of pages. I’d recommend it if you ever see it at the Mag Store.

  5. Long Sleeve Striped Button-Down Shirts

    22-35 Year old men in Downtown Honolulu are wearing long Sleeve Dress shirts this “Winter”. I’ve seen solids, stripes, not too many all whites, but for sure the trend for 2013 is traditional yet slim fitting long sleeve shirts.A lot Less Aloha wear this year and lots more standard/mainland type of  work wear especially amongst the younger group of downtown office workers!

  6. Sears @ Ala Moana Center

    After all these years, Sears is going out of business. I don’t know where I would have bought clothes for my daughter when she was younger. Sears ALWAYS had at least two outfits that she could rock when all other stores didn’t have anything. I guess we’d be going to Forever21 nowadays. Anyway, Sears has prices so low it’s almost free.  40% off the already low sales price.  Like yesterday I bought a pair of work pants. Regular $58 on sale for $39 with the 40% off they were only: $24!!! My size and good Hi-Quality! Stock is still pretty good. What I did is grabbed all the pants I could find in my exact size, then tried them all on. 3 of the 6 fit so I bought them all. Dealeo of the Week!

  7. Pot Meets Pop

    This week’s StreetzBlog highlighted Street Brand. Join in the fun of the Jakarta Underground Subculture when you rock these babies. Complete with fun names of the Jeans; Signature 420’s for the guys and Mary Jane’s for the Gals. Classic

  8. Crawford Park

    Since this is the first top 10 of Makiki Heat, I need to include one of my favorite places in my neighborhood. It’s the basketball court near where I live. One of the best things about living in Hawaii is I can play basketball year round without worrying about snow on the court. It’s a great place to play, mainly during the morning and early afternoon. But, I warn you don’t bring your iPhone or anything too flashy. It’s been getting a bit sketchy lately. Good News is the Police drive by at least 2x when I play there. So, all is well. Just watch for the little “spy kids”  they get sent by their parents to check you out, then they come over. I leave before I even see the parents!

  9. Keeaumoku Seafood

    Also in Makiki near my crib.  Try the Ahi and Maguro Sashimi. Don’t even bother w/ rice or anything on the menu.  The Ahi is always very fresh and the Maguro melts in your mouth. Oh so Ono! Tell them you want what Scott orders and $25 worth and you’ll be good to go.

  10. Paul Van Dyk

    Legendary trance DJ Paul Van Dyk is coming to Hawaii on June 7, 2013 to play at Aloha Tower Marketplace. I used to play him and his remixes back in the 90’s. “For An Angel” used to be one of my most requested songs. PVD has also worked with big names like U2, Depeche Mode, Madonna, JT, Britney Spears, & Rammstein. 18+ to party 21+ to drink. Get your tickets here.

Makiki Heat-Pink-Blue-Streetzblog JPEG-NEW PINKMakiki Heat copy

About Scott Mackenzie

Blogger, Designer, Artist.Owner: Streetzblog.com You can contact me at (808) 275-1106 anytime.

Posted on April 13, 2013, in Cool, Fashion, HOT TREND ALERT, Makiki Heat and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

