Studs and Spikes Forever!

67144_1_468c

Studs&Spikes are Everywhere..Well almost..

When I was in NYC in December the biggest trend I noticed the most was the influx of Spikes and then Studs. I had heard from my friend at broke2gear that Spikes were big in Japan back in October, but didn’t quite realize how big they were in NYC. The Shoes had spikes, the jackets had spikes, Pants were spiked, even the newest SnapBacks were either spiked or studded.

I noticed the spikes the most since this was more different from I was used to, the studs I used to have back in the early 80’s but not on my clothes, me and most of my friends had basic black leather bracelets with silver studs and sometimes silver spikes on them.  The Gals mostly had the spikes, since it was hard to get into Club 3-D with spikes on your jacket or wrist if you were a guy. They were pretty lethal when the mosh pit got going.

I usually get out of the cab as Astor And Broadway in NYC and walk str8t down the street. The first things I saw were studs and spikes on people’s shoes, then I spotted many shoes in the stores with them on in silver, Gold and copper. Next I saw a couple of jackets on people with long rubbery black spikes and even the FIT museum had Spikes on the Thom Browne Ivy League gear.

that’s what I like about being in Manhattan, I can actually see if something is real or just in the magazines or on a mocked up website. This Trend was real and I’m not sure but it seemed to be peaking and heading to the suburbs since I did see a bunch of sales on lots of the Spiked and Studded Shoes. But since looking around Hawaii a bit this past weekend, I didn’t see much of the trend here, so I know it still has a lot of growth. Even the Girl at Claire’s said she “wasnt selling too many spiked or studded gear and if she did it was to the more progressive group of teen fashionistas”.

So, let’s take a look at some of the fun Spiked and Studded Gear being worn and displayed around the world:

Now Here’s a prime example of lots and lots of silver spikes, I doubt this would play well in Hawaii, but would probably wear quite well in Manhattan.  It’s a DERYCK TODD Diamond Dogs Hat. $276 at Patricia Field NYC.

Please take off prior to  Sex.

Please take off prior to Sex.

Next up is a pair of Studded STUDmuffin Sweatpants. I kinda’ like these especially the fact that they have pockets.  I just can’t tell if there are spikes on the back, I suspect not, that would seem pretty ouchy. But I do like the casual yet Hi-Fashion Street Vibe they give off. I think I could pull these off at an Industrial Dance DJ gig when I spin-out as Sniper Wells-Or I may chicken out, now I don’t own a pair so it doesn’t matter. I do like the fact that they are shorts and could work in HI.  I think you can also get these from Patricia Field NYC also, but I think you need to put a special order in, then they make them for you.  Hey- Did I mention they have pockets?  I digress a bit, but for button down work shirts, I always buy the shirts with the pocket on the left for my iPhone and when I buy shorts I always get them with pockets and this may sound funny, but I need them to be deep pockets or I wont buy them. I had one pair of shorts without pockets that I tried to wear 2x but I locked myself out of my car, forgot my wallet in my back pack and generally couldn’t  stay organized. And if the pockets arent deep enough everything spills all over my car and that just Does NOT work for me.  Now, Here’s the picture:

Hey Nice Spikes and hope those pockets hold a lot of goodies!

Hey Nice Spikes and hope those pockets hold a lot of goodies! Not Digging the Meggings or leg warmers and I’d for sure wear Black with white soled Hi-Top Grenson Fred Brogues with these.

Before I hit the studs and of course the Kicks, here’s a couple more intersting spiked Hats. One is a custom New Ear Cap, next is the Bright Yellow Hot Punk Hip Hop hat available here  and the other is available on etsy.com

Black and Silver New Era Cap

Black and Silver New Era Cap

Orange And Gold hat available at Etsy.com

Orange And Gold hat available at Etsy.com

Hot-Punk-HIp-Hop-Hat in Bright Yellow w Spikes available here

Hot-Punk-HIp-Hop-Hat in Bright Yellow w Spikes available here

Check these watches out! You can get in on all the studly action in a very low-key way with the Vince Camuto Watches with understanded studs, bet you could even wear one of these babies to work. Show your inner Punk Rock personality without even getting judged wickedly wrong by a new client in the boardroom. Various styles available here:

Vince Camuto Silver Stud WatchWomens Rose Gold Stud Watch
Vince Camuto Black Stud Watch
And finally on to the Kicks!
First off a pair of for Women. If I was female, I would for sure want to rock these! And since I’m not a lady, I would for sure date a women who wore these. Made of Nice Solid strong bright steel, with Silver Zippers and a rich Purple sole. I don’t usually get too excited about women’s Kicks, But I do recommend these spiketacular 1:00AM fashion pieces. Would look nice with a purple accented black dress cut just below the knee with some dangling bright silver skull earrings! Ruthie Davis Stiletto F*&K-Me Pumps $1395 More information available here at Ruthie Davis:
RUTHIE-DAVIS-F2010-Spike-Back-View-Color2-DARK
And for Men-Some Classic Docs with silver Spikes on sale for $350 available here now:

Doc-Martens

See you on the streetz This weekend at U.H, watching the NFL Play-Offssomwhere and hopefully at Yoga Nidra on Sunday Night!

About Scott Mackenzie

Blogger, Designer, Artist.Owner: Streetzblog.com You can contact me at (808) 275-1106 anytime.

Posted on January 19, 2013, in Celebrities, Fashion, NYC, Streetz STYLE and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

