Caught Up in The Hype!


It’s pretty funny actually, I’ve been to NYC 29 times but only 2x to Brooklyn. Yet I’m all caught up in the Brooklyn Nets Hype. It must be the Black, Grey and White color scheme and I’m sure Jay-Z being a big partner in the marketing scheme doesn’t hurt either. One of my friends Brother’s band made the hook for “Empire State of Mind”, so I have a special place in my heart for the song. And I totally dig it when they play it after the Knicks win a game at Mad Square Garden.

The 2 times I went to Brooklyn, I did have fun? it’s just I get so caught up in NYC, I run out of time to get on the train and go over to it. Maybe this year?

The First time I went to Brooklyn was in the early 90’s when my daughter was about 2 or 3 years old. I woke up super early, got on a train with her and her carriage and went to Coney Island. I remember being totally blessed by the infinite, because I made it there and back with her safely. When we got off the train, vodka bottles were being tossed around the train station like snowballs in a Chicago Winter. It wasnt at all like the Disneyland as I imagined. It was actually one of the scariest moments of my life. I’m not joking when I say “They were throwing around glass vodka bottles”  they were!  And the bottles were breaking into lots of bouncing bits of sharp glass, plus the people throwing them were staggering and swerving into and off of the metal fences like hand balls. We somehow made it out into the sun unscathed.

When I got out of the train station, I made it over to the Coney Island’s “Amusement Area” and it was pretty run down and dirty. So I didn’t trust the rides, thus I headed to what I know best-the Beach. It was here that I found serenity. The Nice blue water and freshly manicured sand saved my sanity and trip to Coney Island-Phew!

After that we had a bit of food then ended up at a HUGE Irish Festival. OMG another place not to be pushing around a baby carriage. After a quick look at the masses at the Irish gig, I headed back on the train and back to Manhattan.

The other time I went to Brooklyn was pretty cool, I went with my friend Alan who lives in Manhattan.  We went to check out the Basquait Exhibition.  I like making art and I do enjoy seeing it, but I move way to fast to stick around and really take it in like a lot of people. But the Basquait Exhibition was different.  We were actually the last 2 to leave and had to be shooo’d out by the security guards.  Then we had a delicious burger and headed back to Manhattan. Pretty fun time!

Lately I’ve been to the Nets website about 30 times debating on getting some gear.  I personally think it totally rocks! But so far, I havent put my money down on anything. Still a Bulls, Knicks and Lakers fan in that order. I suspect I’ll end up getting a custom jersey just for the fashion statement. But the Nets? Brooklyn?  hmmm At the moment I’m still a fan of NYC-Manhattan, Hawaii and Chicago (HiChiNy).  Although, I’m going to make it a point to check out Brooklyn this year when I visit NYC, I’ll let you  know how it goes. Or LMK where to go?

The video at the top of the blog is the announcement that NBA TV’s ” The Association” will be following the Nets around this year-starting October 16th on TV.  The HYPE continues! and BTW, This weekend is a Brooklyn Nets “All Mix” weekend on Hot 97 and I heard earlier today that Jay-Z will be streaming his 8th concert from the Barclay’s Center on YouTube this Saturday October 6th , 2012.  Anyone know how to record YouTube?  I have 3 classes on Saturday and won’t be home.  But I sure don’t want to miss another minute of the Brooklyn HYPE..it’s soemwhat Uhmm… Netoxicating.

October 17, 2012 Update: I just watched the first showing of the “Association” starring the Brooklyn Nets. It was pretty cool, Rosie Perez took Joe Johnson around the Neighborhood and introduced him to Gleason’s Gym and other Neighbors. The Show started off with a :34 freestyle rap by Fabulous. Next episode of the “Association” will be on November 2nd on NBA TV.

About Scott Mackenzie

Blogger, Designer, Artist.Owner: Streetzblog.com You can contact me at (808) 275-1106 anytime.

Posted on October 6, 2012, in Events, Hip-Hop, HOT TREND ALERT, NYC and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

