Snoop, Tupac, Eminem, Dre, Nate Dog, 50Cent, Warren G 2012

Late Friday evening, I was checking out my twitter feed and found out that Swedish House Mafia was playing live on youtube at Coachella 2012. I admit I was a bit out of it not to know this ahead of time. But I did work a lot of hours this week and .. well just missed the NEWS. But as soon as I found this out I switched it over to youtube/coachella and saw 10.5 minutes of Swedish House Mafia. It was pretty awesome, just short.

Saturday I saw a few Ol’ regular “rock” bands and they were somewhat ok. But I was really looking forward to seeing Justice on Sunday. So on Sunday I turned it on, they, just like SHM only played 2 songs or 12 mintues of music. It just didn’t make sense that the two best EDM bands had the least airtime. Maybe the Coachella people don’t want the world to know..duh..that Hip Hop and Dance have taken over.

At least that’s my “conspiracy” theory for the lack of play for the dance bands. But I suspect they figured it was too late to change history with hip-hop. And totally made up for the lack of SHM and Justice with a stellar 52 minute show of Snoop Dogg and Dr. Dre. Snoop and Dre came on with Terrific backdrops and special effects.Then brought us Wiz Khalifa, Warren G, 50 Cent, Kendrick Lamar, and a nice tribute to the late Nate Dog.Then My two favorite portions of the night-Eminem all dressed in grey and black-sounding as good on the beat and slick as ever and TUPAC Shakur Live from the dead via hologram!! Now this was totally awesome! He first goes off by himself, then you see him and Snoop together on stage. By the amount of spleef Snoop was smoking I bet a few people in the front rows, were really trippin’ or blinking like crazy to see if what they saw was really happening.

It was pretty funny watching Snoops Eyes get smaller and smaller as the night went on. I for one don’t know how he can do so well performing while smoking all the time! And what’s so cool about Snoop is he always plays the songs that are his best hits, Tonight he did it and he for sure did it when I saw him at the Waikiki Shell. Thanks Snoop! I like it when the performers play what the fans dig instead of what they want to push at the stores or think is cool themselves. Oh and If you missed the show tonight, you can see most of it on hypebeast or check above for the super-cool super-awesome Holographic Tupac Tune. Just beware, unlike anything else on my site, this song does swear, but the coolness of the performance makes up for the swearing. Hope you enjoy it!

*Rumor has it that Playstation and XBox are to get Holograms in 2015, not sure how true that is, but I did read it on Twitter earlier this evening. How cool would that be?  I want to shoot arrows with Katniss. Or sing with AC/DC. LOL  What would you want to do?

About Scott Mackenzie

Blogger, Designer, Artist.Owner: Streetzblog.com You can contact me at (808) 275-1106 anytime.

Posted on April 16, 2012, in Concerts, Hip-Hop and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

