Judging “Miss Julie”

My first play in years, Was actually really good!

This is a bit different for a streetzblog.com posting.  I gotta Say I haven’t been to a play for at least 10 years.  My friend called Friday afternoon and said we were going to go to a Chinese Bondage movie.  So I was like “oooKay?”  and figured I’d probably end up not making it and just work late and go home and crash. But he called and reminded me and I noticed I was the only one still at work. So I said sure I’ll be there in 10 minutes.  I got the very last ticket for the “Play” not a Chinese Bondage movie after all.  And I liked it. It only had three people in it, but they all played their characters quite well. I especially liked Ms. Julie, she had big crazy eyes and reminded me of  the slightly psycho Cyrilla Deville from 10001 Dalmatians.  The man played a real “dude” quite well and Christine also played her part well.  Miss Julie kept me on the edge of my seat wondering what would happen next the whole play.The story was captivating, the Opium Den was the perfect setting and the acting was awesome.  The only weird part was the end.  I seriously thought it was intermission time, because as far as I could tell the story didn’t end.  When I asked the lady next to me if it was over she said yes and I said I guess we make up our own ending and she said she thought Miss Julie was going to go die and they didn’t want us to see the blood. Me, I think maybe she might, but I liked Miss Julie a lot so I hope she doesn’t kill herself and she has a happy life. Miss Julie was put on by All the Worlds a Stage Theatre Company and starred Lacey Perrine Chu, Tracy Hanayo Okubo and Troy M. Apostol. It played at the Opium Den at Indigo in downtown Chinatown, Honolulu HI. it has one more show Tomorrow/Saturday September 24th. I’d give it 3.9 out of 4 stars and would say to go see it. the .1 off is only because I didn’t know it was over and was looking forward to an intermission to get some food.  The only bummer about the night is as I was walking to my car with my friend, he was on the phone saying how he and his other friend ate some really good Filet Mignon before the Play. OMG-Sure wish I had left work on time like a normal human being and got to eat some real food, instead of Doritos and bottled water from the gas station on the way home.  Oh well, gotta stay positive-At Least I made it out on a Friday night and didn’t stay at work all night. If you saw Miss Julie or another good or bad play recently..LMK  Best way to reach me this weekend is by text (I have computer school all day Saturday from 9a-4p) text me at 808 479-9928 if you have some street news, need a tip or two on where to go Saturday night or if you’re just bored. Peace to ya’ all weekend long.

About Scott Mackenzie

Blogger, Designer, Artist.Owner: Streetzblog.com You can contact me at (808) 275-1106 anytime.

Posted on September 24, 2011, in Hawaii, Street Culture and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

